Quiet achievers in community recognised with electorate awards

Member for the Dubbo electorate Dugald Saunders has recognised nine members of the Dubbo community for their efforts by presenting them with special electorate awards.

A special ceremony and morning tea was held at Taronga Western Plains Zoo on Wednesday where the recipients – David Ward, Nola Honeysett, Fran Rowe, Lionel Wood, Jeremy Dickson, Di Clifford, Matt Gilbert and Brooke Mallison – were presented with special medals.

Mr Saunders said the event was a way to show community-minded people that their work contributes to making Dubbo a better place to live.

“Each and every day in Dubbo we have people who quietly go about business that makes a big difference to the community,” Mr Saunders said.

“These people don’t do this work to receive plaudits but the awards are a way to recognise them for the work they do and say ‘thank you’ on behalf of the community that benefits from them going above and beyond in their various areas of expertise.

“I will be presenting awards in other parts of the electorate down the track to recognise people who go above and beyond in places like Narromine, Wellington, Mudgee and Gulgong.”

  • David Ward – Spent the past five years involved in the Kidzfix Rally to support sick and disadvantaged children. The 2019 rally saw David and his brother Andrew, who call themselves “Team Two Dads” drive “Errol” the 1992 Subaru Brumby from Port Melbourne to Devenport.
  • Nola Honeysett – Serves on the Dubbo Health Council, and was on the board of Orana Early Childhood Intervention, which was a key backer of the Yawarra Special Needs School in Dubbo.
  • Fran Rowe – Served on the NSW Rural Assistance Authority Board, and Rural Womens Network, and received the NSW Premier’s Rural Woman of the Year in 2012.
  • Lionel Wood – Heavily involved with Dubbo Youth Council, including with the organisation of Youth Week activities. A recognised and respected figure of the Aboriginal community, especially for his work with at-risk youth in the city.
  • Jeremy Dickson – Treasurer of Macquarie Junior Cricket Club, Dubbo District Junior Cricket Association, Macquarie Valley Cricket Council and Dubbo Basketball, as well as former treasurer of Macquarie Cricket Club. Also the acting referee co-ordinator for Dubbo Basketball, as well as junior and senior basketball referee. Formerly coached junior representative basketball and cricket.
  • Di Clifford – A teacher for 30 years at Narromine Public School, also involved with Dubbo Folk Club, Dubbo Arts (former president) and Western Plains Cultural Centre.
  • Matt Gilbert – Hard-working president of Dubbo Cycle Club, which is recognised nation-wide as one of the top clubs in Australia. He guided the club through its move from No.1 Oval to its new state-of-the-art complex in North Dubbo.
  • Brooke Mallison – Former secretary of Dubbo Westside Rugby League Club, and heavily involved with other sports including netball, the Koori Knockout, the Ella Sevens. Works with DHUB, a program for Aboriginal students in Years 5-12 in Dubbo and Wellington.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top