Recognising the innovation of our teachers during COVID-19

Teachers in the Dubbo electorate will benefit from an additional five hours of professional development credit, recognising their extraordinary efforts to rapidly innovate so students could continue to learn last year despite the disruptions and challenges presented by Covid-19. 

Member for the Dubbo electorate Dugald Saunders said all teachers maintaining accreditation will receive a one-off credit of five hours toward the 100 hours of professional development they are required to complete every five years. 

“Last year our teachers went above and beyond to support their students. This required them to learn rapidly on the job so that they could continue to deliver education during learning from home,” Mr Saunders said.

“Thank you to all the teachers, support staff and principals for putting professional learning front and centre to create entirely new ways of teaching and supporting the wellbeing of students.” 

Minister for Education Sarah Mitchell said the five-hour credit recognises all early childhood, primary and secondary school teachers who, throughout the global pandemic, adjusted their practices to transform learning in an online environment.

“The Liberal-Nationals Government recognise that teachers’ professional learning included time spent researching, completing online tutorials, networking and collaborating to further develop the skills they needed to keep our children engaged, stay connected with colleagues and support families during this stressful time for the community,” she said.

Minister Mitchell said she was thankful to the education community for putting professional learning as a priority to help create a safer and stronger NSW. 

The five hours of NESA Accredited PD will be added to teachers’ records by the NSW Education Standards Authority by the end of February. 

For more information, visit the NESA website.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top