Natural Disaster declared

A state of natural disaster has been declared for the Local Government Areas of Dubbo, Narromine, Mid-Western, Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Narrabri, Walgett, Warren and Warrumbungle, following the severe flooding that hit the regions in September.

Member for the Dubbo electorate and Minister for Western NSW Dugald Saunders said the natural disaster declaration was an important first step in offering support for local communities under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements, which are jointly funded by the NSW Government and Commonwealth Government.

“This means assistance is available to vulnerable people whose homes or essential household items have been destroyed or damaged, and for business owners and primary producers who have suffered direct damage,” Mr Saunders said.

“Importantly, assistance is also available for councils to restore essential public assets, like local roads which we know have been hit really hard by the constant wet weather.

“I am urging any local homeowner, business owner or primary producer that suffered direct damage to investigate what support might be available to them”.

Other assistance which may be available under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations; and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

For more information, go to: and

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top